2017 English Language Teaching Goals

Hello again! Happy New Year!

Following on from my New Year’s resolution lesson plan, I wanted to write about the things I hope to achieve in 2017.

Normally, I’m not the type to really make New Year’s resolutions. I think the last time I did was in 2013, when I decided on all kinds of worthy things like writing 500 words a day and learning two languages.

What I failed to anticipate was that I started a new job, moved to a new city and met lots of new people during the same period – so inevitably my resolutions slipped.

So what makes 2017 any different to 2013?

Nothing really – I just feel a lot more motivated this time around, so it feels right to try to make some concrete pledges.

So what English language teaching goals am I setting myself for 2017?

Write the blog more regularly.

I started Sharefl back in the first half of last year, but for one reason or another I managed to be very inactive until the last few months of 2016. That’s not going to slide in 2017, so I’m aiming for at least two blog posts every week, and at least one lesson idea.

Give a conference talk.

In my career as a teacher I’ve been privileged to watch many fantastic, inspiring presentations, seminars, and webcasts, and I think it’s about time I got in on the action. I’m not aiming for anything grand (not headlining IATEFL or anything), but by the end of the year I’ll have given an ELT-related talk at a conference or seminar.

Write for an ELT publication.

This might end up being just a guest post somewhere else, but I feel it’s an important part of professional development to engage with the wider ELT community by putting my ideas forward. So in addition to the conference talk, I’m going to try to get something published.

Develop as a teacher.

In terms of my own professional development, there are several areas that I would like to work on, but in particular I want to explore Task-Based Learning and the Lexical Approach in a lot more detail, and hopefully incorporate them into what I do in the classroom.

I also would like to improve how I teach skills lessons. For too long, there’s been a perception that skills are kind of the filler in between the meat of the grammar elements of the courses I teach, so I want that to change.

Oh, and I’ll have finished my Diploma course by the end of  2017!

Keep working on my side projects.

In addition to this blog, there are a couple of side projects that I’m working on – an ELT app, and a couple of other websites. Hopefully I’ll be able to tell you a bit more about these sooner rather than later.

I don’t have a lot of free time, but I’m not going to let these stagnate, or even worse, forget about them because I’ve come up with yet another idea for a project.

In 6 months’ time I’ll revisit this list and discuss how much progress I’m making!

Do you have any ELT resolutions for 2017? Let me know in the comments!

One comment

  1. […] to find that your last post was 3 months ago. Not only does it reinforce the belief that your best-laid plans for writing a blog were unrealistic, but it also makes you wonder where on earth the time has […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

